Best Game Prize - £1,000!


Stuart ConquestIn the Gibtelecom Masters we have an annual best game prize of £1,000. it is the largest best game prize in the world for a single game. If you know of a best game prize larger than this, please contact us and tell us - until such time we will regard it as the premier prize for encouraging beauty over the chessboard.



Over the years our tournament has featured many beautiful games and they all pass under the eyes of the organisers, the public online, but in the end the final vote goes to our commentator par excellence Grandmaster Stuart Conquest. Every year he must make an agonising decision as he plays through game after game on his computer, checking whether the game is worthy or not of becoming this year's winner.

2009: Best Game Prize - Another Draw!


As in 2008, the 2009 best game prize went to a drawn game. Who's says draws are not exciting? Certainly not Stephen Gordon of England and Varuzhan Akobian of the USA, who gave each other a great bear hug when they were awarded the prize at the gala prize-giving.


Stephen Gordon (left) and Varuzhan Akobian

Britain and America have a special relationship! Stephen Gordon (left) and Varuzhan Akobian celebrate winning the 2009 Gibtelecom Best Game Prize.

Click here to play through the game


2008: Best Game Prize - One Game, Two Prizewinners!


Once again, GM Stuart Conquest decided that the £1,000 best game prize should be shared - but there were two winners. It went to Moulthun Ly of Australia and Viktor Mikhalevsky of Israel for a spirited encounter in which no quarter was asked or given. Click here to play through this tremendous encounter, annotated by John Saunders, editor of British Chess Magazine.

Moulthun LyViktor Mikhalevski
Australia's Moulthun Ly and Israel's Viktor Mikhalevski played a thrilling game


2007: Shared first, an unusual phenomenon


In 2007 there was a three-way tie for the best game prize! The final word from main judge GM Stuart Conquest was that there was not much to separate these three games. Maybe you can judge for yourselves which one you prefer! I should add there one of the games was a joint submission so there were in fact four happy recipients of the best game prize: Emil Sutovsky, for his win over Michael Roiz, Alon Greenfeld, for his win over Dean Ippolito and to Iweta Rajlich and Alain Dekker for their combined effort which ended in a draw. The winners were kind enough to add some annotations to their efforts - please enjoy! Click here to go to the 2007 best game prize winners page


Alon Greenfeld Iweta Rajlich
Emil Sutovsky
Is it unfair to call this collage of photos, " Beauty and the beasts"? Alain Dekker  



2006: Julén Arizmendi wins for his spectacular win over Zahar Efimenko


Julen Arizmendi


There were two very spectacular games this year that everybody seemed to think were the favourites for the first prize. GM Viktor Bologan's magnificent game against Viktor Korchnoi in a French defence and the spectacular win of Spanish grandmaster Julen Arizmendi over Ukrainian star Zahar Efimenko on the black side of a wild English. To play through both games with annotation by the winners please click here!






2005: Emil Sutovsky wins for his fabulous game against Danny Gormally



Emil Sutovsky

There was discussion as to how sound Emil Sutovsky's game was against Danny Gormally. Emil had to come up with many lines for days afterwards to prove that his game was sound. To us it is pleasurable because of the extreme beauty of it, especially the aesthetically pleasing finish which even made Vishy Anand say it was one of the best games he had played through. Now it's your turn! Click here






2004: Nigel Short wins best game prize and the tournament as well!


Nigel Short


2004 will be remembered in Gibraltar as the year that Nigel could do little wrong chess-wise. He played the most brilliant game and he won the tournament as well. Nigel has always been know as an attacking player of some flair. For his game against GM Ruslan Pogerolov he decided it was time to land as many body blows as possible and head for the excellent Italian restaurant Nunos that can be found at the Caleta Hotel. To play through his demolition job, click here!





2003: Luke McShane wins the best game prize in Picasso style!



Luke McShaneIt really is hard to describe Luke McShane's win over eventual tournament winner Greek GM Vasilios Kotronias. You could guess that Luke had been studying the works of Picasso and Dali a little too long instead of the works of Kasparov and Karpov!

Many English players have followed the example of Julian Hodgson and included the Trompovsky in their opening repertoire. It has proved to be a useful weapon against certain players who are famous for being theoreticians; the "Tromp" immediately leads to original positions early on in the game. It is still unusual to see Luke move his first kingside piece on move 25! To play through this abstract masterpiece please click here!

Caleta Hotel



PartyPoker graphic