ICC/Gibtelecom Blitz Qualifier Tournament

 

The Internet Chess Club (ICC- www.chessclub.com), in conjunction with the Gibtelecom Chess Festival, are offering ICC members a unique opportunity to win a round trip ticket, hotel room, breakfast and an automatic seat to the 8th Gibtelecom Chess Festival, running 26 January to 4 February 2010 at the Caleta Hotel, one of Gibraltar's best hotels.
 

ICC Qualifier

 

Many of the world's leading Grandmasters - as well as thousands of amateur players - took part in an exclusive online qualifier - open to ICC members only - to one of the world’s best chess festivals. The first part of the qualifier took part over the weekend of November 27-29 2009.

 

The 16 qualifiers played a knockout final on Saturday December 5 2009. The qualifiers (in ICC blitz rating order) were 1. GM Igor Miladinovic (Serbia); 2. GM Alex Lenderman (USA); 3. GM Gawain Jones (England); 4. GM Falko Bindrich (Germany); 5. IM Federico Perez Ponsa (Argentina); 6. FM Renato Terry Lujan (Peru); 7. GM Dmitry Andreikin (Russia); 8. GM Alexandr Fier (Brazil); 9. GM Artur Gabrielyan (Russia); 10. IM Levon Altounian (USA); 11. IM Baris Esen (Turkey); 12. Kazim Gulamali (USA); 13. Marc Christian Nazario (Philippines); 14. Jan Emmanuel Garcia (Philippines); 15. GM Vitaliy Kiselev (Russia); 16. Anh-Dan Doan Trinh (Norway).

 

STOP PRESS... the winner was 'Vladimirovich' - Dmitry Andreikin (RUS, 2636g) who beat 'Dinamit' - Artur Gabrielian (RUS, 2523g) 3½-2½ in the final. More when we have it...

 

Further details can be found at http://www​.chessclub​.com/activ​ities/gibr​altar_2010​/

 

Tournament Times

Friday, 27 November 2009:

Qualifier 1 − 3pm ICC Server Time (3pm ET, 9pm CET)
Qualifier 2 - 6pm ICC Server Time (6pm ET, 12am CET)

Saturday, 28 November 2009:

Qualifier 3 − 2pm ICC Server Time (2pm ET, 8pm CET)
Qualifier 4 - 5pm ICC Server Time (5pm ET, 11pm CET)

Sunday, 29 November 2009:

Qualifier 5 − 2pm ICC Server Time (2pm ET, 8pm CET)
Qualifier 6 - 5pm ICC Server Time (5pm ET, 11pm CET)

Saturday, 05 December 2009:

Knockout Final - 2pm Server Time (2pm ET, 8pm CET)

 

Gibtele.com
Caleta Hotel

Sponsors

 

PartyPoker graphic